Population  of Washington County  
Student Head Count


Student FTE  
 Dixie Junior College Pres. B. Glen Smith


From 1935 to 1963 Dixie Junior College grew on the St. George City Square, expanding from the original Administration Building into five other structures clustered together around the St. George LDS Tabernacle and Woodward School. The college curriculum and the high school courses were taught by the same faculty, creating a four-year school with two years of high school and two years of college known as the 6-4-4 plan -- six elementary grades, four years of high school (7th, 8th, 9th, 10th grades) and four years of college (11th, 12th grades, freshman and sophomore.) At the time, it was thought this plan would revolutionize the education system, but it was abandoned in less than 20 years.

 This period, 1935-63, was fondly remembered by devoted alumni who talk of the superior teaching by such faculty as Linna Snow Paxman, S. Ralph Huntsman, John T. Woodbury, Jr., A. Karl Larson, H. Lorenzo Reid, Arthur K. Hafen, Earl J. Bleak, Juanita L. P. Brooks, B. Glen Smith, Maurice J. Miles, D. Elden Beck, Beth Gardner Schmutz, Joseph W. McAllister, Anna Page Robinson, Dean Peterson, Rodney Ashby, Mariam Ahlstrom Robinson, Myrtle Henderson, Coach Leland Hafen, Arthur A. Paxman, E. Ellis Everett, Nadine Ashby, Elizabeth Snow Beckstrom, Ronald L. Garner, Robert O. Dalton, Andrew H. Barnum, Marion J. Bentley, Pansy L. Hardy, H. Loraine Woodbury, Edna J. Gregerson, Wayne R. McConkie, Gerald P. Olson, Dona K. Parkinson, Howard H. Putnam, William E. Purdy, Donald C. Cameron & others.