Population  of Washington County  
Student Head Count


Student FTE  

St. George Stake Academy

Pres. Hugh M. Woodward


The founders of the St. George Stake Academy were Edward H. Snow, Thomas P. Cottam, George F. Whitehead, James G. Bleak, David H. Cannon, Arthur F. Miles, David H. Morris and John T. Woodbury.











The first President was Hugh McCurdy Woodward.  President Woodward was born in December, 1881, in Huntington, Utah.  He attended the Uintah Stake Academy in 1900-01, Brigham Young High School in 1902-03, Beaver Branch BYU in 1905-06 and Brigham Young School in 1906-07.  He received his Bachelors degree from BYU in 1911 and was promptly hired as the first principal of the St. George Academy.